DIY Project #1

28 Oct

I love love love personalization, especially when it comes to weddings! I think it is what makes or breaks a good wedding. Did you leave feeling like the event really reflected the couple and that they put their own touch on it? If the answer is yes, it’s pretty hard to have a bad time (open bar aside). So, I have chosen to DIY a LOT of our wedding projects! Like scary, I think I might have a panic attack clutching my hot glue gun at 3am kind of a lot. BUT I know it’s going to turn out gooorg (I’m a bit of a control freak perfectionist, great assests in a DIYer).  So, I am going to start sharing some of our projects with you!

First up is the bridesmaid invites I made for my lovely ladies! I did find this idea here, so don’t start thinking I’m some sort of paper craft genius! I did mine a little bit different than theirs, but I was really happy with how they turned out!

Here is what you need:

Roll of bulletin board paper. Card stock in the colors of your gals’ dresses. Card stock in the colors of their hair. Blank printable cards (with envelopes). Ribbon. Scissors. glue stick. pencil. markers. pen.

Here are some step by step photos…(please excuse the iPhone pics)

 

 

*Sorry I didn’t include a picture of the actual card on the bottom there; I don’t really want to be blasting all my wedding details on the internets. All it said was Will you be my bridesmaid? Then had a little wedding announcement with our names, the date and address of our venue and then a little personal note from me about how excited I am for them to share the day with me!*

Aren’t they just the cutest!?!  I waited a long time after getting engaged to ask my maids, so they were all totally surprised, which is a major plus!! I am not great at drawing but the girls were pretty simple to sketch. The worst of it all is cutting out those tiny little hair styles, but I think having them accurate to your girls makes it just that much cuter! This project can definitely be time consuming, but being a bridesmaid can be a big commitment, so you should start things off on the right foot by putting in the extra special effort for them! Plus, they are your best friends, so I am sure you love them and love the idea of them smiling when they open up something so totally adorable!

2 Responses to “DIY Project #1”

  1. stephanie! October 28, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    I think my hair would be a bit more accurate if it was up in an ugly pony tail. I am sure mom would agree…. love you!!!

  2. Colleen October 29, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I certainly loved opening mine!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

